BW vs Colour Photographer

/ 1 decade ago (04 April 2006 12:53)

As I am digitalizing all my BW portfolio, I realized and confirmed within myself that I am a BW photographer, no doubt about this. Teresa, my dearest wife, says the same and feels the same about my way of being a photographer. I can understand and rate more easily BW's than colour photography as when capturing images, I "can" really see the BW result of the capture I am taking, as I can almost instantly see the gradations from black to white, contrasts and overall lighting effect. This is not a selfstatement nor a vanity, but it is the reality that has to do with my begginings in photography where BW was the way to go, not only because it was much more cheap to do at home but because at that time it was the way I looked at the world: Black and White.

I have also in my PF, many colour positives - developed also by myself at home - but the interesting part is that the type of photography I do in colour is completely different than the one I do in BW. Completely different as water from wine. Nowadays however, is so simple - if one knows how to do it correctly - to enhance colours captures with dramatic effects that one can achieve really astonishinng compositions on the digital darkroom, - in some cases, far away from the reality - which are simply not compatible with BW photography, which is based mainly in light and shadow, contrast and a truly gradation from black to white. What my fellows photographers and graphics mates here at SB think about this ?

All contributions are most welcome. Many thanks. Wink

Post replies:

1 decade ago (04.04.2006 10:56)
Reply by: TAXIFUNK
When I saw your amazing 3d effect achieved by focus ranges in almost black b/w

[LINK]